Rape Crisis


All-Party Parliamentary Group on Sexual Violence                                              


The APPG on Sexual Violence is co-chaired by Sarah Champion MP and Rt Hon Maria Miller MP. It provides a forum for discussion within Parliament to raise awareness of sexual violence against women and girls, and particularly on how legislation, policy and practice relating to sexual violence is affecting survivors and specialist support services.


Rape Crisis England & Wales provides the Secretariat to this group and supports the group in an administrative and operational capacity.


Officers for the All-Party Parliamentary Group on Sexual Violence:


Sarah Champion MP – Co-Chair
Rt Hon Maria Miller MP – Co-Chair
Jess Phillips MP Vice-Chair
Baroness Margaret Prosser, OBE
Caroline Lucas MP
Alison Thewliss MP


Meetings of the APPG are open to the public by invitation. Please email appg@rapecrisis.org.uk to be registered on the mailing list.


Forthcoming Meetings


Date                              Title

17th April 2018           Pornography and Sexual Violence

3 - 5pm


Confirmed speakers include:

  • Professor Clare McGlynn - Durham University, Professor of Law and expert in the legal regulation of pornography, image based abuse (including ‘revenge porn’) and sexual violence
  • David Austin - Executive Board of the United Kingdom Council for Child Internet Safety (UKCCIS) and CEO of the British Board of Film Classification (designated as regulator for age-verification of online pornography)
  • Dr Maddy Coy - Centre for Gender, Sexuality and Women’s Studies Research, University of Florida, author of 2013 survey connecting representations of women and men in pornography and links to sexual coercion

If you would like to attend the session on 17 April, please reply to appg@rapecrisis.org.uk  


Previous meetings


Date                               Title

24th January 2018         Inaugural Meeting


Publications and reports


The APPG on Sexual Violence conducts inquiries into key issues raised through APPG meetings. The inquiries assemble evidence from survivors, front line professionals, academic researchers, statutory agencies and those responsible for tackling sexual violence strategically through prevention, provision, policy, protection and prosecution.